Much Ado About Something!!

last week i posted a sort of criptic comment on our facebook page about not receiving the loan modification that i had applied for, and taking a few days off to deal with the realities.  what this meant for the critters and me here at Planet Kitty, was the threat of loosing our home.  talk about a panic.  i was in the midst of it!

while initially i became gainfully employed june of last year, it was followed not quite 4 short months later with a layoff.  at the time, i was not sad to say good bye to the job i had been doing because i had an impossible boss that was never happy, leading to an impossible stressload that wound me up at the ER to make sure that i hadn’t had a heart attack.  while the money was great at the time, and yes it did get me a loan mod, the overall responsibility of the job was killer, so saying good bye wasn’t a difficult one.  they paid me a month’s severance, what little vacation i had and sent me on my way.  i was sure that i would be able to find something soon. granted, that something was working at office depot hell, but it was something.  however, the new modified payment couldn’t be made, considering my full month’s salary at office depot hell was just a $100 more than the house payment.

home sweet home. what 3 years of being broke and in and out of forclosure does to a home. :-S

i was ever so excited and grateful to be hired by the state in a job in march!  i had previously applied for a loan mod only to be told that my debt to income ratio was too great.  so when i started the new job, off went a new loan mod request with high hopes. afterall, it was my mortgage company who told me to apply in the first place.  (gmac who has since filed for bankruptcy not because they didn’t make money last year, -they made about $3 bill-they just didn’t make any money off their mortgage sector and so have decided to get out of that line of business-and they say corps are people!)

so i was certain that with this improved salary, i was to be approved for a loan modification and life would go on!  not quite so fast there buckeroo!!

last week this vision came to a very loud screaching hault when they denied me the load mod, claiming that they had attempted to qualify me for two different packages and giving me conflicting reasons for why i had been denied both.

i freaked.  what did this mean for all the critters in my care??  not just fosters but those that are permanent family members to me?  the first night i was depressed.  the second night mad, fed up and exhausted with the loan mod/forclosure danceafterall i had already done this for over a year previously.  i spent my lunch hour at work making calls to anyone and everyone who i thought should know about my predictament and that could possibly help.  and that night i drove home feeling very similar to how i figured Tony felt at having to move in with me; that life wasn’t fair; i was being cheated;  scared sh!tless; depressed. afterall i had lived in the house for over 13 years.  i had built it even.  how dare they expect me to leave it afterall all i had survived and had still kept my home and a roof over both mine and my critter’s heads!!

Tony who now lives with me

i made ridiculous phone calls and logical calls as well, all looking for solutions to our predictament-i include the animals as they would be homeless to.  i called my congressman; i called the state attorney general to file a complaint against GMAC; i called the USDA depart of rural development to see if they could help; i researched online to determine some options; and then made call to those resources i discovered.  at night i capitulated bwtn “if they want this house they can have it!  i’ll find better”  to crying and determined to hang onto it until they dragged me from it.

i agonized over the fate of the animals.  i logically tried to reason which ones i would keep and which ones i would choose to rehome; that was just too hard!  it killed me!  the cats=when  i thought about taking to the bigger rescue up the road, i worried about them languishing in cages until they went mad.  the dogs, especially Kelly, my pibble mix, i worried about them winding up in homes where they were left out back, tied up to spend their lives outdoors with hardly any attention to worse, being used for dog fighting or bait.

Aslan, my very special needs boy whom previously i had been informed would most likely wind up being a permanent resident at the rescue facility i had inquired at, along with his special needs brother Pannda because of their older age AND special needs.

and then there was Aslan.  what would happen to him?  he wouldn’t make it in a rescue for the rest of his life.  the shock of it would most likely have a very dire serious affect on him and i truly pondered whether or not being put to sleep my be better for my developmentally delayed kitty.  it was a nightmare and endless nightmare for me!

one night last week, i sat down to dinner with my friend phyllis who had previously been thru just the same thing, same feelings and all.  oh how she knew so well.  she watched as my emotions bounced all over the place, and then forced me to ask myself what i really wanted.  what i really wanted, was a home for me and my family, and my family meant my critters, me and all.  yes i could find homes for the fosters, but the permanent residents of Planet Kitty, my family, i wanted a home for to keep us all together.  that’s when the pilot light inside me was lit, and i realized that my family was what i needed to fight for, not the house.  Phyllis had managed to find herself a new little home all of her own.  the present state of the economy, and her retirement made that possible for her.  what could it mean for me?  could it mean that i might be able to find something for me that was owner financed?  something that was better suited to our needs AND closer to work?  suddenly i began to look at things in a different light.

1. the forclosure wasn’t going to happen overnight, and i knew how to play the forclosure game.  i had done it previously to borrow me time and i could do it again.

2.  the current state of the economy was keeping all sorts of people stuck in homes they didn’t want, and some of them were willing to provide owner financing rather to those of us who were now gainfully employed but who’s credit had taken a hard hit.  it just might be possible to find something better in my price range that possibly could provide for us all or at least most of us.  i might have to rehome a few animals, and keep the rest, but that was a heck of alot beter than having to rehome say 95% of us!

3.  after speaking to the department of rural development, i found out that they have a program specifically for people in my income bracket that are dealing with forclosure and had exhausted all other possibilities.  this could also be a solution to the problem.  they would not only provide a lower interest rate, but a bonus allowance that would be used to make minor repairs to the home which my home had ALOT of.  ALOT!

by the end of the week, alot of my stress had been converted to positive energy.  “your cause has been put out there into the universe” my friend Phyllis said” and the universe is asnwering”  she sent me a link to a site that specialized in rent to own places.  i also realized that those types of homes were also listed on craigslist, and while i didn’t find anything yet that is a good fit, i continue to look. i also have submitted the required paperwork to the USDA and wait to hear back from them as well.

lastly, i also put in a call to an old friend of my sister’s who may also be able to help me find something that fitst my needs.  he not only sells real estate but is in property management as well, and even has a client with a small house in a town closer to where i work who would consider an owner finance situation rather than continuing to rent the place.  he would get back to me.

a ray of hope

suddenly the clouds began to part, and by the weekend i felt hopeful.  i just had to continue to search and be patient.  meanwhile, i would again go thru the steps i had previously took to delay the forclosure.   ” you have put it out there in the universe” Phyllis had said “and the universe has begun to answer”.

today i went to work, and while at work, i received a call from the local office of my federal congressman.  i explained my predictament to them, and they sent me a 3rd party agreement so they could speak with my lender.  “we’ve been getting alot of calls like these” she told me, emphasizing ALOT.

i also spoke with a representative of the colorado forclosure hotline which has a fairly decent success rate of negotiating loans and modifications for colorado residents.  they have managed to keep 4 out of every 5 clients who’s homes were in default from being forclosed on.  she explained to me some of the modification requirements that the mortgage company wouldn’t and also said that i had 120 days from the judge’s aproval of the forclosure until the house actually forclosed.  we are currently in june, almost mid june, and the lender still hasn’t officially put me into forclosure.  she said that everyone is only allowed one modification a year.  my year will expire in august, which is just about 2 months from now.  another ray of hope.

i remember again what my friend Phyllis had said about “the universe is beginning to answer” and i smile.  i am filled with hope and see the numerous possiblities that we have before us.  me and my family.

Eli Merry and Sherlock; so happy together!

2 thoughts on “Much Ado About Something!!

  1. Oh LuAnne I feel for your situation so much! 😥 i am currently going through one like it myself. I wish with everything inside me that this works out for you! I am sending sooooooo many good vibes your way lady.

    • ty ty!!! i am most certain it will!! i feel it in my bones these days and am no longer scared, but am looking forward to whatever positive change and potential possiblility this brings us. i am certain of it!! 🙂 and ty for all your good vibes!!

Leave a Reply

