It’s time to start…

And so we begin.  I am the owner of Planet Kitty…the blog that is.  The pets pretty much own everything else! lol  I live in Western Colorado and am trying to relocate further west, but still remain in Colorado.  This was all brought about by a job, which actually is something to be thankful about but still requires of me to eventually relocate, animals in tow.  It’s all very complex ya see, because I was unemployed and dealing with the possibility of loosing the home, and so began selecting the animals I felt would do best to be rehomed, and those that I would try to keep.  It’s been a slow, agonizing and painful process.  Fortunately, I’ve found all good homes for those I’ve had to adopt out so far. 

So why am i downsizing my pets?  Well even tho I have a new job and my income has changed for the better, I still don’t know yet if I’ll b able to hang on to the house in order to sell it and get my equity out of it, or even if I am able to sell, if I’ll b able to get another place, and might end up having to move into a motorhome for a year.  (I’m looking at 31 and 32 footers presently).   I had to determine the cats and dogs that would do best in this direst (sp?) of situations and then proceed with the plan of rehoming the others.  It was a very very tuff decision but one that I felt was best for everyone involved. 

As I’ve stated, the ones that I have rehomed so far, have all found very good home snad being in animal rescue for so long, I know what steps to take as far as references, etc., to make sure they are in the best hands for their future possible. 

I have found just about everyone a great home, except for 3 cats.  I have found the best success with the local paper and altho they are free, I require discussions with their present vets and also references, especially if they are renters. 

Of the 3 left, two of the kitties are special needs and one is healthy with nothing but some slimming down needed.  These 3 kitties are either black and white, or all black and so are the most passed over kitties to be adopted.  If any of you are located in Colorado and are interested, please leave me a message and I’ll contact u back!  I will also post pics as well. 

You might have noticed that the blog’s name is Planet Kitty, but that I have both dogs and cats and blog about them both.  This is because the number of kitties outweighs the number of dogs, and also because that was the best name I came up with!  At times, it also feels like the cats are in control and me and the pooches are just along for the ride.  Altho, if we do all move into a motorhome, I will DEFINITELY be doing the driving and not any of the kits.  LOL

As far as the blog is concerned, I will try and write as often as possible.  What with being a single gal in charge of 3 dogs and 8 kitties, working-and having a long commute part of the time-and packing and getting my living situation ready for just about anything, I am very busy to say the least.  I work tuesdays thru saturdays with sundays and mondays off, and when sunday gets around, i have a tendency to just collapse and breath for the day lol.  Of course usually someone will jump on me neccessitating having to get up and : letting someone out, someone in, refilling food bowls, waterbowls, or just plain petting someone…so somtimes it’s not much of a day off, but fortunately i don’t mind as it’s all about my family first!  =)  (and yes I do consider them my family, albeit a furry one)

Speaking of fur, it seems to be a “matter” that is at the forfront of my life, whether it be cat or dog hair, on my clothes, in my car, floating in the air, a fine coat on the covers on my bed, regardless of where or when, it’s a very difficult thing to declare war on and WIN.  Any suggestions are HIGHLY appreciated! lol  It never fails; I arrive at work with it on me, get home and can find it on me even before hitting the door, can pull something out of the dryer and yes it’s there, neatly packed into a nice little compact ball ready for me to pluck! and even will make its presence known on my keyboard of all things!  Course it doesn’t help that a cat or 2 feels the need to “pass thru” either while I’m on the keyboard or even when I’m not even here.  Often they like to trip up my typing as well, and my dogs are famous for “accidently” turning off my computer as well when I’m right in the middle of something.  Talk about frustrating! lol

Last but not least, this blog is still a work in progress as far as getting pics up, lists, etc.  I picked wordpress because of the highly visual and pleasing presentations of other blogs that I read here, but didn’t realize that learning how to create the blog would be such a challenge.  However, I refuse to give up!

Ok I’m closing here, thanks to a kitty bouncing off my head and something being knocked over…ugh.  I hate packing!!

2 thoughts on “It’s time to start…

  1. How exciting! Your first post! I didn’t realize you were downsizing pets…that must be a difficult thing to do….i do hope you will keep your special needs kitties? I bet they need you mostest! how many cats are you planning on keeping at the end of the day?
    T

    • the kitties i’m having to rehome aren’t being rehomed because of their needs but becuase they wouldn’t do well being downsized to a motorhome. rehoming them has actually been recommended by my vet. I do really worry about them and hate having to do this! ugh! One is just too aggressive with some of my other kitties and the other one would be absolutely petrified-he has very special needs as he’s developmentally delayed. I will have 5 cats and 3 dogs after everyone else has been rehomed.

Leave a Reply

